Author Topic: COBA Student Wins Big Internship  (Read 1563 times)

Archona Rani Saha

COBA Student Wins Big Internship
« on: September 03, 2023, 11:09:23 AM »
Kenneth Mullinax/ASU

ASU COBA Student Earns Prestigious Internship with KPMG

An Alabama State University accounting student has been awarded a multi-year paid internship with the prestigious Big-4 accounting firm KPMG. James Jackson, a native of Columbus, Ga. and a student-athlete (Track and Field), has been named by KPMG to its list of Embark Scholars, a competitive program that focuses on coaching and developing high-performing students like Jackson to become potential KPMG leaders of tomorrow. 

"When I found out that I won the scholarship from what I feel is the world's finest accounting and financial services firm, I was elated and felt great because a very small percentage of students win this internship," Jackson said. "As a KPMG intern, I am allowed to work within and increase my knowledge of such accounting techniques as tax, audit and literally, all brackets of accounting."

Executives with the firm describe the Embark Scholars program as a cross functional network of individuals who will work collaboratively to ensure that the students engage with and rotate through a diverse group of members across all business resource groups within the firm. These rotations allow the Scholars to become students of the firm and will help them determine the group with which they are most interested to intern the following summer. Many of the selected Scholars are offered employment upon graduation.

SELECTED AS A FRESHMAN

Dr. Kamal Hingorani, dean of the Percy J. Vaughn, Jr. College of Business Administration (COBA), shared that Jackson is just entering his sophomore year at ASU and was actually selected to take part in this highly sought-after program as a freshman.